我们正面临皇后区的住房危机

纽约市的住房危机影响到我们所有人。在皇后区生活已经变得太昂贵了。即使是被指定为“低负担”的经济住房,对于我们大多数人来说也遥不可及。我们必须重新定义真正的承受能力。它应该基于皇后区居民的实际收入,而不是整个城市的中位数收入。

随着人口的增加和负担得起的住房供应的减少,纽约市面临着巨大的危机。尽管在过去的二十年里建造了新的住房,但大多数是上层阶级和超级富豪的住房。纽约市的独特之处在于,其中很大一部分房屋都卖给了非纽约人,他们只在这里做兼职。这从固定收入的家庭和老年人那里带走了宝贵的住房,他们只是在寻找基本的住所。

纽约的新建筑不应成为家庭和个人无家可归的原因。我们需要在重建与人民住宅的神圣之间取得平衡。应创造条件,避免由于重建而导致的无家可归现象,以避免明显后果和破坏后果。

尹导正在为有资格的中产阶级家庭争取百分之十(10%)的城市租金税收抵免,以帮助皇后区不断增长的生活成本。推广首次购房者计划也可以帮助减轻我们的一些住房问题。以合理的价格购置房屋通常可以使家庭团结在一起,并改善住区。

我们还应该支持使NYCHA更加勤奋地修复我们行政区中数千个城市拥有的公寓的努力。现在解决住房问题将避免未来几年出现更大的问题。

皇后区的居民也需要真正的负担得起的住房,我们应该要求HUD推动为我们的居民及其家人提供此类住房的项目。预制的住宅公寓楼将为城市节省数十亿美元,并有助于降低建筑成本。我们可以建造经济适用房,使开发商仍能获得可观的利润,同时又将租金保持在合理水平。

We Are Facing a Housing Crisis in Queens.

The housing crisis in New York City affects us all.  Living in Queens has become far too expensive.  Even housing designated as “affordable” is far out of reach from most of us.  We must redefine what real affordability is.  It should be based upon the real incomes of residents of Queens, not on the median income of the entire City.

With an increasing population and a diminishing affordable housing supply, New York City is facing a huge crisis.  Even though new housing has been built over the last two decades, it has mostly been for the upper class and the super-rich.  New York City is unique in that a large portion of housing is sold to non-New-Yorkers who live here only part-time.  This takes away valuable housing stock from families and seniors on a fixed income who are simply looking for adequate shelter.

New construction in New York should not be a reason for families and individuals to become homeless. We need to create a balance between redevelopment and the sanctity of peoples’ homes.  Conditions should be created to avoid homelessness due to redevelopment, in order to avoid the consequences that clearly follow and disrupt.

Dao Yin is promoting a ten percent (10%) City Rent Tax Credit for middle-class families who qualify, to help with the ever-increasing cost of living in Queens.  Promoting first- time homeowner programs can help alleviate some of our housing problems as well.  Home ownership at a reasonable price often keeps families together and makes for better neighborhoods.

We should also support efforts to make NYCHA more diligent in repairing the thousands of city-owned apartments in our borough.  Fixing housing problems now will avoid larger problems in the years ahead.

Residents in Queens also need true affordable housing and we should demand that HUD promote projects that deliver such housing for our residents and their families.  Prefabricated residential apartment buildings would save the city billions of dollars and help keep the cost of construction down.  We can build affordable housing that allows developers to still make a decent profit but while keeping the rents at reasonable levels.